Australian Curriculum


The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA), in collaboration with states and territories, has developed agreed Australian curriculum for English, Mathematics, Science and History. Each of these learning areas includes statements that represent essential learning for all Australian students.
In Victoria, the Board of Studies has worked closely with teachers and key education stakeholders to develop syllabuses that include Australian curriculum content and further detail that clarifies learning.
As a result of this work, syllabuses provide direction to ensure greater consistency between NSW schools. The new syllabuses build on the strength of the existing Victorian curriculum. Many features of the new Prep – 10 English, Mathematics, Science (incorporating Science and Technology Prep – 10) and History syllabuses are retained. Literacy and numeracy remain important areas of focus in Prep – 10, where essential foundation skills are developed.

The syllabuses identify the knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes that students are expected to develop in each learning area. They are designed to provide flexibility for teachers to develop their teaching and learning programs to meet the needs of their students.

Glenroy Private
93 Daley Street
Glenroy VIC 3046
P: (03) 9306 7988
Al Amanah College
Bankstown Campus
2 Winspear Avenue
Bankstown NSW 2200
P: +61 2 9708 1220
Liverpool Campus
55 Speed Street
Liverpool NSW 2170
P: +61 2 9822 8022
Salamah College
40 Hector Street
Chester Hill NSW 2162
P: +61 2 8760 1000