Primary Curriculum


The Department of Education and Training sets the learning requirements for each stage of primary school. The four stages are: Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten), Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2), Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4) and Stage 3 (Years 5 and 6).
In English and Mathematics your child will learn specific topics each year. In these two subjects there are certain ‘building blocks’ that must be learned before your child moves to the next level of understanding. The other subjects are more flexible and topics can be taught at any point within the two year stage.
The Board’s syllabuses state what must be taught in these six domains:



Science and Technology


Creative Arts

Health and Physical Education (HPE)

At Glenroy Private, all domains integrate creative and critical thinking skills and Inquiry Learning. This allows students to develop those higher order thinking skills and ensure learning experiences are authentic and meaningful.

All programs are differentiated to cater for each child in the class. Programs include adjustments and extensions that will ensure that students are working to their ability with all learning needs being targeted.

ICT is integrated across all domains through the use of classroom Interactive White Boards (IWBs) and student access to the school’s Computer Lab.  All classes are allocated one hour per week in the school’s Computer Lab where they explore a range of software programs including;




VCAA Ondemand

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer


MS Office (Excel, Word, Powerpoint and Publisher)

Furthermore, teachers also integrate ICT throughout all domains and homework utilising websites such as ‘Pinterest’, ‘Scootle’ and ‘Studyladder’.

Glenroy Private
93 Daley Street
Glenroy VIC 3046
P: (03) 9306 7988
Al Amanah College
Bankstown Campus
2 Winspear Avenue
Bankstown NSW 2200
P: +61 2 9708 1220
Liverpool Campus
55 Speed Street
Liverpool NSW 2170
P: +61 2 9822 8022
Salamah College
40 Hector Street
Chester Hill NSW 2162
P: +61 2 8760 1000